Easy & healthy gummy fruit snacks

BeFunky_DSC09681.jpg

I have seen several home-made fruit snacks on pinterest and decided it was about time I gave it a try. My daughter loves Gummy fruit snacks and even though I only  buy the all natural kind I knew it  could be healthier and it had to be cheaper than 50 cents a bag for just a handful.

I let my daughter choose the flavor and  after studying the fruit bowl for half an hour she finally picked out 2 oranges, 1 lemon and  handful of strawberries. This recipe is so easy and took  just a few minutes to prepare, I just wish I made more since they were gone just as quickly as they were made.

These are a great treat for kids to help prepare so let them join in the fun! Enjoy and let me know if you try it, I’d love to see your results!

BeFunky_DSC09683.jpgWhat you need

  • 1 cup of berries ( we used strawberries)
  • 1 1/2 C of all natural fruit juice   and at last 1/2 c of citrus, ( we used fresh squezed orange and lemon)
  • 1/4 c honey
  • 5 packages of gelatin , the more you use the firmer it will  be, ours were firm but still jiggled a bit. Next time I will use 6 packs.

How to make it

  • heat berries on the stove with honey until honey is melted
  • Pour juice  in food processor
  • Add gelatin to food processor and pulse until mixed
  • Add berry/honey mix and process until smooth
  • Pour onto a baking sheet lined in parchment paper or plastic
  • Stick in the refrigerator for at least 45 minutes until it is firm, longer if you can wait…we couldn’t 🙂
  • Remove from fridge and cut into  preferred shapes, I couldn’t find my mini heart cutters so I just cut into squares.
  • Eat up!

Featured on simple dish!

18 thoughts on “Easy & healthy gummy fruit snacks

  1. I had no idea you could make your own fruit snacks! I eat a lot of fruit snacks and they are really expensive, so I think I will try making my own. giveaway comment

  2. Hello. Going to make these today. Is it 2 cups total of juice including the citrus or is it 1 cup juice w/ 1/2 cup citrus? Thanks

      • We went to an International Market and could not find gelatin, but found Agar. So we made vegan gummies. We used Guava (a favorite flavor of my husband’s) guava juice and grape juice. After we put it in the fridge for 45 mins w/ no setup, I looked up vegan gummies and decided to boil the mixture. After placing it back in the fridge they came out more like gel than gummy. I look forward to finding gelatin and/or retrying this with the pineapple we bought and seeing if the citrus and tweaking the recipe for the agar makes a difference. In your recipe you do not heat the gelatin? Do they come out gummy-like or gel-like?

      • They are gummy like. the less liquid you add the more gummy. I have never made it vegan so I am not sure about agar The fruit is hot from cooking on the stove that it heats the gelatin up.

  3. Pingback: Gummy Fruit Snacks | The Crafty Collaborative

  4. Imma do these with Lyric. Maybe I can get myself all set to do it this weekend. I can’t wait til I can chance honey and give them to Emmett!

    • Its 1.5 cups of juice + 1/2 cup of citrus equaling 2 cups together. they didn’t last long in my fridge since the kiddo devoured them but i’d say at least a week refrigerated.

Let me know what you think!