Ginger corn cakes & coconut syrup

Ginger corn cakes & coconut syrup

I love coconut, not  just for its flavor but for its amazing healing properties. It is cold and flu season and with everyone just getting over being sick I have been trying to add coconut oil to all of our foods to help boost our immune system.

Sunday morning I was craving a warm , sweet and filling breakfast but when I opened the cabinets I realized I forgot to buy whole wheat flour at the grocery store so pancakes and waffles were out of the question. We did however have some cornmeal and coconut milk  and I decided to experiment a bit and see what happens.

These corn cakes were a hit with my family and after eating breakfast everyone was energized and ready to get some projects we have been putting off done. Perhaps the coconut oil and milk gave us an energy boost or perhaps it was just having a belly full of good food.Either way these corn cakes are a much healthier alternative to pancakes drowned in syrup and are a nice fresh and exotic twist to an ordinary breakfast.  Enjoy!

What you need:

How to make it:

  • In a bowl mix corn meal and 1.5 tablespoons of  grated fresh ginger
  • add 2 table spoons melted coconut oil, 2 eggs and 1/3 of the can of coconut milk.
  • Mix together and if your mixture is too dry add a bit of water, I added around 2 tablespoons water
  • Mixture should be  moist but  thick enough to grab and form into balls
  • Heat  about 4 tablespoons of coconut oil on stove, MED heat
  • Form balls of corn meal mixture, a bit bigger than a golf ball, and flatten into patties
  • place in pan and fry until golden brown on both sides
  • Place in a warm oven to keep crisp and warm until your syrup is done

For syrup:

  • In a sauce pan add the rest of the coconut milk and the coconut cream and heat on MED heat
  • In a small bowl put 2 tbsp of tapioca powder and add 4 tablespoons of coconut milk
  • stir to dissolve then add it to the pot
  • add sweetener
  • let simmer until a little thicker, It will still be runny but it will be creamy

Top corn cakes with coconut syrup and cilantro, yum!

**full disclosure: I was given a sample of a product used in this recipe. I was in no way obligated to use the product or review it. I only use products I love, trust  and have tested.

 

Printer friendly version HERE: http://www.edwardandsonsrecipes.org/?p=4516

8 thoughts on “Ginger corn cakes & coconut syrup

  1. Coconut oil and everything coconut is so common where I come from…it’s funny and quite sweet to see how the West adapts it to their lifestyle. Back home when we used to get colds, my mother would put coconut oil in our hair for the whole day. I really don’t know the benefits but I was told it helps relax your loaded sinuses. I loved the head massage that came with it and the relaxing feeling after it was done.

    • ooh that does sound nice. I have been using coconut oil for about 10 years and I am so glad someone convinced me to use it, I love it for everything- helping with burns and cuts, as a lotion, in my hair, in desserts. its amazing

  2. Pingback: Coconut Ice Cream – Edward & Sons Recipe Blog

  3. Pingback: Berry, Lavender & Coconut Milk Scones – Edward & Sons Recipe Blog

  4. Pingback: Ginger Corn Cakes & Coconut Syrup – Edward & Sons Recipe Blog

Let me know what you think!