Mini raw pies

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I took a little break from blogging to get my daughter ready for her first year of school, visit the Hopi reservation to see my mother and  get excited about food again.  Summertime is full of amazing produce but a lot of times I find myself cooking the  same things over and over- beet chili, garden pizza and pasta. It can get pretty boring so I spared you all the re-run recipes and took a little time to experiment and try to come up with new ways to use my summer foods.

With my daughter starting school soon I have also been experimenting with making lunches and have come up with some adorable finger foods to pack for her and this recipe is one that I can not wait to send her to school with.  Raw pies are great because it tastes like you are eating a sinful treat but really you are pretty much eating a power bar. These mini pies pack up nicely in a small Tupperware and the chia seeds really hold the filling together nicely. You don’t need to freeze these pies just leave it in the fridge for a few hours and they are ready to go!

* makes 6 mini pies

What you need:

  • 1 cup soaked almonds ( soak almonds in water for 1 hour)
  • 1 cup dates
  • 1/4 c flax meal ( if you don’t have meal regular flax will do)
  • 1/2 cup each of 2 berries, I used blueberry and strawberry
  • 1/4 c chia seeds
  • 1/4 c honey simple syrup (in a jar mix 1 cup honey and 1/2 c warm water, shake until dissolved and store in fridge! great for coffee and smoothies!)
  • wax paper and cupcake tin

How to make it

  • mix chia seeds and honey simple syrup in a bowl and let sit for half hour
  • blend berries and chia mixture together and sit it in the fridge while you make the crust
  • in a blender mix almonds and dates
  • Place crust in a bowl and mix with flax meal
  • line cupcake tin with wax paper
  • press crust into cupcake tin making sure it is packed firmly
  • spoon in filling
  • let sit in fridge for a few hours to firm up
  • devour!
5 thoughts on “Mini raw pies

  1. For a while I thought you were telling us to sit in the fridge while we make the crust and later to firm up. I wish. My sleep deprived brain just isn’t working. 🙂 this sounds divine to eat and I love that’s so simple.

Let me know what you think!

