Home made mayo

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Mayo is one of my guilty pleasures, I knew it wasn’t good for me and yet I still found myself sneaking it into the cart. Once I cut out all processed foods I resisted buying it altogether, that is until I figured out how to make it myself.

Even all natural mayo has extra ingredients ( and a hefty price tag )  but conventional mayo has ingredients that just should not be consumed, what the heck is disodium EDTA? With a product that should just be oil and egg why risk consuming chemicals when it is so easy to make!

Once I figured out how to make my own mayo I started experimenting with flavors and textures and  my love affair with this creamy condiment became stronger than ever. This recipe is for a basic mayo base but try my suggested alterations below and don’t be afraid to come up with  your own!

What you need

  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 tbsp mustard
  • 2 teaspoons vinegar ( i like apple cider but you can use white too)
  • 2 teaspoons or lemon juice
  • 1.5 cups of oil, I used olive oil, avocado blend
  • salt to taste

How to make it

  • add egg yolks, mustard, vinegar and lemon juice in a mixer with a whisk attatchment
  • whisk until mixed
  • turn whisk to med-high and slowly add oil, mayo should turn white and thicken up when done
  • store in a mason jar in the fridge

Variations

  • Add garlic paste to make an aioli, for a twist use roasted garlic
  • add mulberry and dijon mustard for a sweet and spicy twist, recipe HERE
  • Add aioli and use as a dip for fried, recipe HERE
  • add chipotle or bbq sauce for a spicy spread
  • use horseradish mustard for a bit of a kick
  • add fresh herbs like chives or rosemary
One thought on “Home made mayo

Let me know what you think!

