Coconut, Almond & Date Shake

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

After watching one of my favorite cooking shows, Trippin’ out with Alie & Georgia,  where they venture to southern Cali and tried a date shake I knew I had to have one…like right now. Thankfully my husband is amazing and he drove me over to WinCo to get some bulk dates.   I wasn’t really interested in drinking a ton of ice cream and as usual following a recipe seemed like such a drag so I reinvented the date shake and made this semi-healthy meal in a cup!

This date shake is super thick and rich and quite filling. I don’t care if there is ice cream in this drink, I had it for breakfast and have no regrets. Try it with a burger  with dates and bleu cheese!

What you need

  • 1/4 cup of almonds ( soaked for at least half hour)
  • 1/2 c dates
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1/2 c vanilla ice cream ( Use coconut bliss  or greek yogurt!)
  • 1 cup of ice
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

How to make it

  • soak almonds  for half hour and drain
  • add almonds and dates to blender until well blended
  • add coconut milk, ice cream, ice and cinnamon and blend until smooth

**For a superfood boost soak 4 tbsp of  chia seeds in coconut milk overnight before adding to the shake!

One thought on “Coconut, Almond & Date Shake

Let me know what you think!

