Mulberries 4 Ways

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

The other day my friend invited me over to pick some mulberries and cherries. It was so much fun climbing trees and ladders and picking a ton of fruit and staining our hands but when I got home I realized I had no idea what to  with all these mulberries. I Googled and asked around but the only suggestion I got was jam or cobbler. Don’t get me wrong, I love jam and cobbler but I wanted something a bit different.

Mulberries have a very light flavor, kind of like honey water, so they can be used in many different sweet and savory  recipes without overpowering it. They do  stain everything ( they would make a great dye!)  so wear gloves and an apron if you don’t want to be dyed purple, I stained 2 shirts during this kitchen adventure.

I am definitely a new fan of  mulberries and wish I would have found out sooner since I picked the last of this seasons berries. Next year I will be stocking up and freezing then to test out more recipes.

Mulberry BBQ Sauce

What you need

  • 1/4 c molasses
  • 1/4 c apple cider vinegar
  • 8 ounce can of organic tomato paste
  • 1/4 c pureed mulberries
  • 1 heaping tablespoon chili powder
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • pinch of ceyanne pepper

How to make it

  • Put all ingredients in a sauce pan and simmer for half hour or until it is reduced by half
  • Be sure to stir occasionally to keep sauce from burning or clumping
  • Can be stored in the fridge for up to a month!

Mulberry & Dijon Aioli

What you need

  • 2 egg yolks ( room temp)
  • 4 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp horseradish Dijon mustard, or regular Dijon mustard
  • 1 C oil of choice, I used HALF pure olive oil and HALF safflower oil
  • 2 tablespoons of mulberry puree
  • pinch of salt

How to make it

  • Add egg yolks, 1 tbsp of the  mustard, lemon juice and salt to a food processor and puree
  • Turn on medium and very slowly add oil
  • Aioli should thicken up and become a creamy spread
  • Mix in mulberries and other tbsp of mustard
  • Keep in fridge until you use it

Mulberry Sorbet (serves 2) 

What you need

  • 2 cups of FROZEN mulberries
  • 1/2 cup of lavender syrup  or simple syrup

How to make it

  • To make simple syrup put 2 cups of water per 1 cup of sugar in a sauce pan and cook until dissolved
  • To make lavender syrup add lavender to the simple syrup in the pot and simmer for another 10 minutes and strain
  • cool syrup before making sorbet
  • puree mulberries with syrup and serve

Mulberry Oatmeal ( serves 3)

What you need

  • 3 cups of quick oats
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1.5 C milk
  • 1/2 c mulberry puree
  • 4 tbsp sugar

How to make it

  • Cook oats  with milk , sugar and butter
  • swirl in mulberries
  • yum!
2 thoughts on “Mulberries 4 Ways

  1. Nice to see such an assortment of uses for mulberries! Where were you 20 years ago when I lived in a house that had a huge mulberry tree, and I didn’t know what to do with them?

  2. Pingback: Home made mayo | Mama Mouse Says

Let me know what you think!

