Pup pops- Popsicles for fur babies

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAIt is summer here in Utah and just as the heat wave entered our little town our swamp cooler broke.  For those of you on the east coast, wading through the humidity, a swamp cooler is a type of air conditioning system that pumps moisture  into the air cooling it down and using less energy. Since we live in the dry desert these contraptions are a life save, except when they break and then life is a little less fun.

As a human I can find lots of ways to stay cool like water balloon fights, cold showers, swimming at the reservoir or sticking my head in the freezer but for my poor fur baby the heat is inescapable. Our dog is a husky and when we were thinking of adopting a dog I distinctly remember saying “No long-haired dogs, especially huskies!” but the universe  works in mysterious ways. Although I never wanted a husky when I opened the door one winter day and this filthy stray wandered into our house I looked into his big blue eyes and said ‘welcome home’.

But I digress, back to the heat! As  you can imagine, being a husky in the Utah desert is probably really awful and I wanted to make my pup a treat to keep him cool ( even for a few seconds) on these hot summer days. These pops were a hit with the pup ( although he also eats trash so who knows)   and they are full of good things to keep him healthy as well. You can use popsicle  molds or just use an ice-cube tray and don’t worry about looks , your dog wont judge you.

What you need

  • 1 cup of  dehydrated pet food , I used Honest kitchen! or dog food, wet or dry.
  • 1 cup broth, use only organic real chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup  chopped veggies that your dog likes. I used summer squash & peas

How to make it

  • If you are using dry dog food blend in a food processor until it is the consistency of corn meal
  • blend broth and dog food in a blender until smooth
  • mix in veggies with a spoon, add meds or vitamins if you have trouble getting them to take it. I put Loki’s fish oil in his.
  • put in molds or ice cube tray and freeze, easy!
3 thoughts on “Pup pops- Popsicles for fur babies

  1. Pingback: All natural dog treats: A dogs review | Mama Mouse Says

Let me know what you think!

