Raw vegan pâté & stuffed mushrooms

raw Pâté stuffed mushroomsToday I did a raw foods “culinary art” demo at the Ogden art festival. It was a sweltering day but I had a blast!  The food left the tray as soon as I sat it down which I assume is a good sign and since  everyone was asking for my recipe I though I would share it with all of you.

This raw pâté  is a quick spread and can be used on sandwiches, wraps and even sushi. I like to use it as a dip for my veggies when we are on picnics or on my morning toast. The great thing about this spread is that it last forever…well up to 2 weeks in the fridge but in our house that is practically forever.

During my demo I used the pâté  to stuff some mushrooms  for a quick and easy faux fancy appetizer, everyone can use a little bit of fancy in their lives now and then.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

What you need

  • 2 bunches of basil
  • 1 cup Raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 c sundried tomatoes
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1/4 olive oil
  • 1/4 c braggs or soy sauce
  • 4 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 2 tbsp sesame seeds
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 20 Mushrooms, if you will not be stuffing them  you only need 5 whole mushrooms

How to make it

  • add sesame seeds, lemon juice  and a tablespoon of olive oil in a food processor and blend until a paste
  • add nutritional yeast, braggs and the rest of the olive oil and blend
  • take stems out of all the mushrooms and add stems to blender, if you are not stuffing mushrooms add 4 whole mushrooms to blender
  • add basil, sundried tomatoes, garlic and sunflower seeds and blend until it is a paste, add a but of water if it is too thick
  • chop red pepper and add to blender and blend just until it’s a bit mixed in.
  • fill mushrooms with pâté  and top with a basil leaf and sunflower seeds
2 thoughts on “Raw vegan pâté & stuffed mushrooms

Let me know what you think!

