Nancy’s yogurt challenge #2

Welcome to part 2 of the Nancy’s yogurt challenge! Today we have my friend and fellow blogger Jillian  of  ‘The quest of Crunchy Curious‘ and Pretty paisley designs. Read more about the challenge and check out part 1 HERE
BeFunky_yogurt challenge (1).jpg

When I was asked to be part of this challenge I jumped at the chance!!  My blog is all about learning to live more naturally and sometimes I get a little freaked out by all the stuff I learn, but yogurt?  I can handle yogurt!  Luckily Nancy’s Yogurt was incredibly tasty and way more natural than the other stuff I have bought with fervor thinking it was super healthy for me (cough-yoplait-cough).  So I let my mind run for a bit and I got to thinking.  What weighed heavily on my mind was the weather.

Here in Utah the weather is so strange sometimes.  You can have clouds and rain in the morning, sprawl in the sunshine by noon and a raucous thunderstorm before bed.  Planning for meals on a day like this can be trying because you don’t know what food you will be in the mood for!  I had decided yesterday that I would make some frozen yogurt with the delicious strawberries that were on sale at my local store.  Once I saw the rain, I was not it the mood for frozen treats.  So my mind shifted to incorporating yogurt into one of my favorite gloomy day meals, Tomato Soup and Grilled Cheese.  Thus, Tomato Yogurt Bisque was born and goodness it was delicious!  My boys devoured it and that is no small task with a toddler and a new to foods infant.

As the sun came shining out after lunch, I thought maybe that frozen treat could use a second thought so I made it up.  My oldest and I took turns eating what was left on the paddle while the youngest protested his not being old enough.  By the time bedtime for my boys came and I was ready to settle down with my sweet treat, a ridiculous thunderstorm was raging outside my window.  I ended up enjoying it with a large cup of tea and looking out the window.  Nature is a beast and a beauty, am I right?  I hope you enjoy these recipes on your next crazy weather day or any day for that matter!

BeFunky_Tomato-Yogurt Soup (1).jpg

Tomato Yogurt Bisque

  • 1 28oz can of diced or whole tomatoes of choice
  • 2 Large cloves of Garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbsp.  Italian Seasoning Spice Blend
  • ½ Cup Nancy’s Organic Whole Milk Plain Yogurt
  • 1 Tbsp. Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

Open the can of tomatoes and place in a food processor.  Pulse or run until the consistency is what you prefer.  I like mine with a few smaller pieces of tomato and not completely pureed but you choose what you like.  Pour the pureed tomatoes into a sauce pan and put it on the stove on medium heat.  Add the garlic, Italian seasoning, olive oil, salt and pepper.  Simmer for 15 minutes to let the flavors blend and turn off the heat.  Add the Nancy’s Yogurt and stir until well blended into the soup.   Save a spoonful or two of yogurt to dollop on top and serve with a yummy grilled cheese sandwich.  My kiddos loved the soup!

BeFunky_Tomato-Yogurt Soup 3 (1).jpg

Creamy Strawberry Frozen Yogurt with Black Pepper

  • 2 Cups of Strawberries chopped
  • 2/3 Cup of Sugar
  • 1 Cup of Nancy’s Organic Whole Milk Plain Yogurt
  • ½ Cup of Heavy Cream
  • ¼ to ½ tsp. of Black Pepper to taste (be brave)

Directions:

Chop the strawberries and put in a bowl with 2 Tbsp. of sugar and let sit for one hour.  Once the hour has passed, put the strawberries into a food processor and pulse until it reaches the desired consistency.  Totally smooth or slightly chunky is up to you!  Pour back into a bowl and add the rest of the sugar, heavy cream, pepper and Nancy’s Yogurt.  Stir until mixed well and place in the refrigerator for at least one hour or until completely chilled.  Once chilled, place in ice cream maker for 20-25 minutes or until it looks to delicious to wait any longer.  Eat right away or place in the freezer to enjoy later.  You can leave out the black pepper but it is a really great flavor and being brave is a good thing!

4 thoughts on “Nancy’s yogurt challenge #2

Let me know what you think!

