Nancy’s yogurt challenge #1

Nancys_logo
If you haven’t noticed I am quite a huge Nancy’s yogurt fan  so when I had the opportunity to do a giveaway I decided just a giveaway would not do them justice. Nancy’s sent me 4 tote bags and goodies to give away and instead I chose 4 of my foodie friends to do a Nancy’s challenge!

Each gal used Nancy’s yogurt to make a recipe and talk about what they thought of this delicious product. It was so much fun seeing what everyone came up with and even more fun spreading the word about Nancy’s.

Yogurt is a powerful food and great for our bodies . Nancy’s organic and hormone free milk comes from local NW dairy co-op members within 50 miles of Eugene, Oregon where Nancy’s is made. Their yogurt is never sweetened with sugars which can KILL the probiotics that make yogurt  good for you making your healthy treat not so healthy. Instead Nancy’s uses fruit juice, honey, maple syrup and agave to sweeten their yogurts!

In short, Nancy’s is the bee’s knees and by far my favorite health food company around so stick around and be sure to check out all 4 Nancy’s yogurt challenge entries!

********************************************************************

Hello there Mama Mouse Says fans! I’m Maleah from ThisHolisticHouse.com. I’m excited to be here. You can read more about me here, but, to sum up, I’m a crunchy mama that loves to cook! (My recipes often swing paleo.) I also talk about homeschooling and share some of my “beauty” (ie. lotions etc) recipes… Or I will as time goes on. I’ve only just started my little blog a few weeks ago. Lol. I’d love for you to come check me out.

Last week, fellow blogger and real life friend, Mikki, put out a call via Facebook for a few people to review Nancy’s Probiotic Greek Yogurt. I was one of the lucky ones that got chosen to participate. I got a cute reusable grocery sack, a recipe and a few coupons to give Nancy’s a try.

My instructions were to make the recipe on the card OR to make a recipe of my own creation.

We all know which one I chose.

(What can I say? I like making up recipes!)

Let me just start by saying, this recipe wouldn’t be the same without this GREEK yogurt. It made the sauce nice and thick. A typical yogurt would not have given it the same body.

This recipe came together even better than I thought it would! Nancy’s added a nice tang in addition to thickness.

Now, when I say this is EASY, I really do mean it. It mostly calls for putting everything in a bag, letting it marinate and then dumping the bag into a pot and letting it cook. I haven’t tried it (yet), but I’m betting that this would be an easy freezer meal. I’ll give it a go and let you guys know.

Paleo Friendly Easy Chicken Curry

Ingredients

  • 2 (very) large chicken breasts or 3-4 smaller ones, cut into thin slices
  • 2/3 cup Nancy’s Plain Greek Yogurt (if you choose not to use dairy products, can sub for coconut yogurt)
  • 1 shallot, grated with a microplane
  • 3-5 garlic cloves (depending on size and desired strength of flavor), grated with a microplane
  • 3 tbsps curry powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 cup thai basil
  • 1/4 cup cilantro
  • 1 green onion stalk
  • 4 kaffir lime leaves
  • 1 whole chili pepper (I used a jalapeno.)
  • 1/2 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsps toasted sesame seed oil
  • 2 tbsps coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup bone broth (can sub chicken stock if you don’t have bone broth)
  • 3-4 cups roughly chopped baby bok choy

Method

Place the yogurt, shallot, garlic, curry powder, salt, pepper, thai basil, cilantro, green onion, lime leaves, and honey in a gallon size zip lock bag (or a bowl) and mix thoroughly. Add chicken, mix. Place bag in the refrigerator and marinate for at least 2 hours and up to 24.

Paleo Friendly Easy Chicken Curry 2

Once the chicken is done marinating, heat a pan on medium high and add coconut oil. Put the entire contents of the bag in the pan and add the bone (or chicken) broth and chili pepper. Let cook, stirring occasionally until the chicken is almost cooked through. (5-8 minutes.) Then add the bok choy and toasted sesame seed oil. Cook until the chicken is cooked through and the bok choy is wilted. (Another 3-4 minutes.) Remove the chili pepper and discard.

Serve alone, with cali-rice, cali-naan, noodles (not paleo) or rice (not paleo.)

Paleo Friendly Easy Chicken Curry 3

This really was SUPER yummy. I love curry.

Thanks Mikki and Nancy’s Yogurt for giving me a reason to dream this dish up!

Paleo Friendly Easy Chicken Curry 1

Maleah Caulford

This holistic house

5 thoughts on “Nancy’s yogurt challenge #1

  1. Pingback: Just popping on to let you all know…

  2. Pingback: Nancy’s yogurt challenge #2 | Mama Mouse Says

  3. Pingback: Saturday Was Soul Soothing: Utah Blogger Meetup

Let me know what you think!

