Old fashioned cherry pie

old fashioned cherry pie

The other day my family decided to go on an adventure to the reservoir but we forgot that it was the national collegiate bicycle championships and the roads were all closed. After zigzagging and getting a bit lost we ended up on a road to Brigham city 30 minutes from where we live and on the way we saw a self-serve cherry stand.

Never one to let farm fresh food pass me by I made a mental note of the location and on the way back home from our (mis)adventure we stopped in to check it out. There was just a box for sliding money in and freezers full of fresh picked cherries. After sampling some and deciding these were indeed the best cherries I have ever tasted I snatched up a small bucket of them and we drove home with a craving for fresh pie.

Pie is probably my favorite thing to make and if you ask my husband what I make best he will quickly say ‘ PIE!’. After years of tuning out runny pies a friend of mine told me her secret to a perfect pie, instant tapioca. From that moment on I was on a pie frenzy and I didn’t stop until I had perfected my recipe.

This pie is a country-style cherry pie made with REAL butter ( not crisco or margarine, yuck!)  and farm fresh fruit. Best served with a glass of cold milk or a heaping scoop of vanilla ice cream, yum!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What you need

Crust

  • 2.5 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 1 c real butter
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 egg
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 6 tbsp cold water
  • 1 egg white and extra sugar for top

Filling

  • 2 lbs pitted tart pie cherries
  • 1/4 c sugar
  • 1/4 c instant tapioca
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 4 tbsp of lemon juice

How to make it

Filling

  • combine  cherries, tapioca, sugar, zest and juice in a bowl and let it sit while you make crust

Crust & assembly

  • using your hands blend together flour and butter until crumbly
  • mix in sugar and pinch of salt
  • in a small bowl mix together apple cider vinegar, egg and water ( you may not need all the water, I am at a high elevation so I need more water, those of you at lower elevations will need less)
  • slowly add to flour until it forms a ball
  • split into 2
  • turn onto a floured surface and knead  into a smooth ball ( do not over knead, you only need to knead about 10 times)
  • Roll with a floured rolling pin until desired thickness, i like my bottom crust thick, some prefer it thin.
  • place over lightly oiled pie pan and using kitchen shears, trip the edges until it is about 1/2 inch over the edge
  • roll out top crust and use cookie cutters to cut out shapes if you like
  • place cherry mixture into pie pan and top with top crust.
  • trim edges of top crust to match bottom crust.
  • pinch edges together and then fol the crust under to hide edge
  • using your fingers press along the edges to make indents
  • brush with egg whites and sprinkle with sugar
  • use a knife to cut out designs or just pike holes to let air escape
  • bake at 250 for 10 minutes then lower the heat to 250 and bake for another half hour to 40 minutes until filling begins to bubble out
  • let cool before cutting
7 thoughts on “Old fashioned cherry pie

  1. Did you get the cherries with sugar or without? I picked up a bucket today, the ones without sugar added, and I’m wondering I’ll need to adjust the sweetener.

  2. Pingback: Indie Ogden review- Woodyatt cherry farms

Let me know what you think!

