Purple potatoes & beets with garlic yogurt sauce

purple potato and beet chips

I went to the grocery store for  eggs and when we arrived we found out it was customer appreciation day and prizes were being passed out around the store. Once my husband and daughter heard the word ‘prize’ they ditched me in the produce aisle and went off  to try to win something.

Leaving me unattended in a grocery store is a dangerous thing, some women love shoes and some love purses but I love groceries. What should have been a $10 MAX trip to the grocery store ended up making me $50 poorer but I did have really pretty beets and purple potatoes and toum from a local company and yummy yogurt and of course a bunch of random things.

Yesterday we went on a long hike and spent sometime at the climbing gym so I wasn’t in the mood to cook anything fancy but I knew I had to try the toum I bought. This is a super quick but oh so yummy recipe and can be made several ways. Try it with thin slices or thick slices, with cheese or without but you simply MUST try the sauce.

Enjoy!

BeFunky_GEDC0736.jpg

Makes 2 servings

What you need 

  • 1 large beet
  • 2 purple potatoes
  • 2 tbsp corn or tapioca starch
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • parsley

For sauce

  • 1/4 c yogurt ( I used Nancy’s whole milk yogurt)
  • 4 tbsp toum ( I used Laziz toum but you can make it using this recipe)
  • 1tbsp water

How to make it

  • slice beets and potatoes super thin, I used a vintage kitchen magician but any mandolin should work
  • soak potatoes in a bowl of cool water for at least half hour
  • drain and lay potatoes and beets on paper towels or kitchen towels to dry
  • put into a bowl and toss with corn starch and  drizzle with olive oil
  • lay onto a baking sheet (it’s ok if some overlap) and sprinkle with sea salt
  • bake at 350 for 20 minutes or until edges are crisp
  • in a bowl mix yogurt, toum and water
  • drizzle over potatoes and beets and sprinkle  with parsley
4 thoughts on “Purple potatoes & beets with garlic yogurt sauce

Let me know what you think!

