Carrot & beet layer cake with goat cheese frosting

BeFunky_GEDC0056.jpg

I admit  I am not the best baker, usually I leave all sweet baking to my husband who eyes the oven like a hawk and always turns out perfect cookies and brownies. Today however I had carrots and beets that needed to be used and a craving for creamy frosting that needed to be satisfied.

Carrot cake is one of my favorite treats but people usually pump it full of sugars and crap and take away from the natural sweetness of the carrots, the very reason I love carrot cake to begin with. I decided to make a simple, honey sweetened cake and for some reason thought it would be a good idea to get all fancy and make it a layered cake. Thankfully I did not butcher it ( this time) and the cake came out quite pretty.

This cake is super moist and sweet without the junk and a good way to trick your kids into eating veggies. You can substitute cream cheese for the frosting but I assure you goat cheese frosting is the bees knees and you wont be sorry if you try it!

 

What you need

Carrot layer:

  •  5 shredded carrots
  • 1/2 c honey
  • 1/2 c yogurt, I used honey Greek from Nancy’s
  • 2.5 c white whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 c oil of choice, I used melted coconut but any veggie oil worls
  • 2 tbsp cinnamon
  • pinch of salt

Beet layer

  •  2 shredded medium sized beets or 3 small
  • 1/2 c honey
  • 1/2 c yogurt, I used honey Greek from Nancy’s
  • 2.5 c white whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 c oil of choice, I used melted coconut but any veggie oil worls
  • 2 tbsp cinnamon
  • pinch of salt

Frosting

  • 8 oz goat cheese ( or cream cheese if you prefer)
  • 1/4 c Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 c honey

How to make it

Cakes

  • oil and flour your baking pan
  • preheat oven to 350
  • In a food processor or by hand whisk together yogurt, eggs, honey, oil
  • In   a bowl mix flour, baking soda and powder ,salt and cinnamon
  • add shredded veggie to flour and toss until coated
  • fold in wet ingredients
  • bake at 350 for 20 minutes until fork comes out clean from the middle

Frosting

  • Whip together goat cheese ( or cream cheese) , honey and yogurt until light and fluffy
9 thoughts on “Carrot & beet layer cake with goat cheese frosting

  1. If you’re really worried about fat, you can also use applesauce in place of the oil. I do that in carrot cake all the time (it’s my favorite) and it changes the texture only slightly. This looks good!

  2. Pingback: The Quest of Crunchy Curious

Let me know what you think!

