Chia, yogurt & applesauce muffins

chia, yogurt & applesauce muffins

 

Look how cute these mini baking pans are!! I tried out these lovely little things from Welcome Home Brands and I just couldn’t get over how adorable they were. Welcome home makes all kinds of cute bake ware and there will be a review soon for sure.

I made these chia, yogurt and apple sauce  muffins for breakfast for home and for the hubby to take to work. I have so much yogurt right now that I have been trying to pt it in everything and what is better for breakfast than yogurt? These are super yummy and slightly sweet and are awesome with a scoop of yogurt and a bit of honey.

Speaking of honey do any of you watch Duck Dynasty? Can I just say that I love Miss Kay and I want to be her when I grow up? She is the sweetest and a woman who knows how to cook frog legs and makes jam with honey is a woman I want to be like.  So, I will leave you all with a  couple quotes from Miss Kay to get your day started right:

“Food is the language. I know how to speak it.” and  “Your not a proper woman unless you own a goat or two.”

I hope you enjoy this recipe!

What you need

  • 1 c Greek yogurt,I used Nancy’s greek honey yogurt
  • 4 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 c apple sauce
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 c whole wheat flour
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 c unbleached sugar or honey
  • 1 tbsp real vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • a few tbsp raw sugar for top

How to make it

  • Mix chia seeds and yogurt and put in the fridge to sit for 3 hours, chia seeds will absorb moisture and puff up
  • in a bowl whisk yogurt, apple sauce, vanilla, eggs , sugar or honey and coconut oil together
  • in a separate bowl mix flour and baking powder and salt
  • fold in wet ingredients to dry
  • spoon into oiled muffin tin, half full
  • sprinkle top with raw sugar
  • bake at 350 for 20 minutes

 

5 thoughts on “Chia, yogurt & applesauce muffins

Let me know what you think!

