Healthy tuna casserole

healthy tuna casserole

I was never a casserole person, in fact I have not made a casserole in 6 years. Once I left home as a teen I have pretty much stayed away from them since casseroles when I was growing up  were usually hamburger helper.

Tuna casserole was never on my list of foods to make but when groceries were running low and I was craving comfort food I decided to finally give this as try. I didn’t want something heavy  and buttery so I decided to experiment with Greek yogurt and the result was a yummy, creamy  and light tuna casserole .

This was a really nice lunch on this gloomy rainy day and a definite kid favorite. I think the quality of the tuna really helped make this dish so be sure to use high quality tuna when making your casserole.

What you need

  • 1.5 c whole wheat pasta ( 3 c cooked)
  •  1/2 c sour cream, I love Nancys 
  • 1 C Greek yogurt – again Nancy’s is where it’s at
  • 1 c cheese, I used an asiago/white cheddar blend
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 2 cans of  Tuna, I used Vital Choice sustainably caught tuna
  • 1.5 c fresh peas ( or frozen)
  • 1 c whole wheat panko
  • salt & paprika

How to make it

  • Preheat oven to 300
  • cook pasta in salted water, drain and sit aside
  • in a bowl mix mustard, yogurt, sour cream and cheese
  • add tuna and peas and mix
  • salt to taste
  • mix in pasta
  • spread into a 9×9 baking pan
  • top with panko , paprika and sprinkle with salt
  • bake for about 20 minutes
  • enjoy!
3 thoughts on “Healthy tuna casserole

  1. This looks so yummy! I had the same experience with casseroles growing up so I also shy away from them but I am so excited about this one. I have a request…could you blog about a meatless enchilada?! If not it’s totally fine but I would LOVE to try your version. As always I love your blog and we are having your pizza tonight…for the second time in two weeks 🙂

  2. Great…thanks! !!
    I could almost copy this word for word as my own story. EXCEPT for when it comes to the casserole. Mine was good enough to eat…but nothing to write home about, lol (hence no post). So I look forward to making this.
    And let me thank you in advance from my family too!

Let me know what you think!

