Gluten free chocolate cakey brownies

BeFunky_BeFunky_IMG_6663.jpg

When I think of gluten-free the first thing that comes to mind is cardboard. I have tried several gluten-free brands  at the grocery store and after the first bite my daughter and I give each other a “what the  heck were we thinking”  look and spit it all out.

One time a friend made me gluten-free brownies and I thought that since they were home-made they would be delicious but when she handed me a dense chocolate mass that looked suspiciously like cardboard I had my doubts and my doubts were spot on. I politely chewed and chewed and chewed for eternity until I finally worked up the courage to swallow so when I got my hands on some quinoa flour I was determined to make something edible. If you add enough chocolate even cardboard is edible right?

I gathered up everything that makes baked goods fluffy- baking soda, baking powder a couple eggs…a couple more eggs. I was determined to make this gluten-free good delicious and I was also determined to make these brownies look the opposite of cardboard. Much to my surprise,and relief, these turned out really good! The brownies turned out to be more like a nice moist cake so perhaps I was a bit too generous with the eggs, either way it was not only edible  it was go back for seconds yummy.

I am quite proud of this recipe especially since it means I can now make tasty things for my friend who has Celiac disease! I hope you enjoy this yummy treat either as a brownie or cake but either was it’s perfect with ice cream!

What you need

  • 1/4 c cocoa
  • 1/4 c melted butter
  • 1/4 c yogurt
  • 1/4 c coffee (as in the kind of you drink, I made mine dark in the  french press )
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 1 c sugar
  • 1.5 c quinoa flour, I used bob’s red mills
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp salt

How to make it

  • In a mixer or with a hand blender whisk together the butter, cocoa, yogurt, vanilla, sugar, eggs and coffee
  • in a separate bowl mix flour, baking powder and soda and salt
  • fold wet ingredients to dry ingredients until combined
  • bake at 350 for 20 minutes or until fork comes out clean from the middle
7 thoughts on “Gluten free chocolate cakey brownies

  1. Pingback: Review: Bob’s red mill natural foods | Mama Mouse Says

Let me know what you think!

