Forbidden rice & beans with cumin sour cream

BeFunky_IMG_6601.jpg

I swear this is delicious even though the photo does not do it justice. Remember how I said my camera sucks and probably also my photo taking abilities? Ya…well this is the best I could do but I promise you will love this and devour it and beg for seconds.

I picked up some forbidden rice at Winco mostly because it said forbidden and if someone says “don’t touch” or “you can’t” or “that’s forbidden” I want it more. I grabbed a few heaping scoops and felt very proud of myself for sticking it to the man or bulk bins or whatever and then I got home and realized I had no idea what to do with forbidden rice.

I had been giddy all day after seeing my other blog won 3rd place for best Utah blog for the second year in a row so I wanted to cook something quick and get back to happy dancing and such.  After google told me that forbidden rice was not scary and actually was quite easy to make I decided to whip up some beans and rice with my favorite cumin sour cream.

This is a super easy and quick meal and nice and colorful to entice young ones. It also makes great leftovers wrapped up in a tortilla!I added some of my mung bean sprouts but that’s totally optional.

What you need

  • 1 c forbidden rice
  • 1 1/2 c chicken or veggie broth
  • 1 can organic beans, i used red beans
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 1/2 red onion
  • Mung bean sprouts- optional I just like them
  • 2 tbsp cumin
  • handful of cilantro
  • 1/2 c sour cream
  • 1 lime

How to make it

  • cook forbidden rice in chicken broth with a bit of salt & 1 tbsp cumin (http://howtocookrice.net/types-of-rice/forbidden-rice/_
  • right before rice is done add beans and cook until excess liquid is gone
  • in a pan saute peppers
  • chop onion and cilantro
  • in a bowl mix sour cream with 1 tbsp cumin
  • Mix peppers and rice and beans
  • top with onion, cilantro, sour cream and some lime
7 thoughts on “Forbidden rice & beans with cumin sour cream

  1. I’d nit heard of forbidden rice before today–now I have to try it. Wouldn’t it look great with white beans, as kind of a reverse Moros Y Christianos? Sounds like dinner to me! Thanks

  2. I bought my forbidden rice at Winco–‘ready to make this for dinner tonight. I don’t see the beans in the recipe–other than BEAN sprouts. I think the directions could be a little more detailed–like how long to cook the rice. I googled it to find out 30-45 minutes. Thanks for the good idea. I always use Naturally Yours fat free sour cream from Winco and it is very good. Most ff sour cream is disgusting.

    • I made it tonight for dinner. It was good. I added lime zest to the sour cream/cumin. My meat and potatoes man wasn’t thrilled, but oh well…. My daughter-in-law came by to taste and took some home for her lunch tomorrow. I really liked the texture of the rice.

Let me know what you think!

