Whole wheat baked donut holes

BeFunky_IMG_6363.jpg

I know I know, I am a health food junkie,  a lover of all things real and pure and good for my body  so what the heck am I doing posting a recipe for donuts ? The truth is, even though I love health food sometimes a girl just has to have a donut and  no matter how many spoonfuls of honey  you eat,  you STILL want a friggin’ donut.

I have been craving donuts for days-sweet, sugary  and fried bites of clouds. I didn’t want to walk down to topper bakery or fry anything in my house so  I skimmed through some recipes and after seeing how long they take I started to feel a bit defeated. Finally when the craving was too much to bear any longer I sucked it up and started my project.

At first I tried a recipe I found on a food blog and it failed miserably. I check the recipe over and over to see where I went wrong, I was substituting whole wheat flour but it shouldn’t have bombed that badly.  I had a mound of dense rock hard dough on my counter…useless. I tried the recipe again making some tweaks just in case it was my high elevation that was the problem….rock hard again.

Finally, I tossed the recipe and started from scratch.After a few tantrums and a bit of sobbing and yes begging the flour to produce a donut (just one donut PLEASE! ) I finally came up with a recipe that produced the fluffiest whole wheat donut holes I ever devoured in 3 seconds flat.

These donuts are heavenly and perfect and so good it hurts…especially if you eat 7 in a row.  They do take a little while to make but the end result is so worth the wait. I made these with both cinnamon and sugar and for the adventurous  foodie – cinnamon , sugar, cocoa and  a pinch of cayenne. They are best hot and fresh but I certainly would not say no to cold ones later in the day.

What you need

  • 1 c warm milk
  • 3 tbsp active dry yeast
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2- 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 1/4 c melted butter
  • pinch of salt
  • cinnamon sugar & melted butter for topping

How to make it

  • Whisk warm milk and yeast in a standing mixer until dissolved
  • whisk in 1/2 c of the flour
  • let sit for 10 minutes
  • whisk in eggs, vanilla, salt and sugar
  • whisk in butter
  • slowly add the remaining flour little by little until the dough comes together and pulls away from the sides
  • the dough will be  a bit sticky, as long as it forms a ball this is ok
  • put in a greased bowl and let rise for 1 hour or until doubled in size
  • put in the fridge or freezer if it is too sticky to handle, I found that 20 minutes in the freezer worked wonders
  • Roll of on a floured surface 1/4 inch thick
  • use a cookie cutter or measuring cup ( like me) to cut into small circles about 1.5 inches
  • place on a cookie sheet and let sit for about half hour until it double in sizes again
  • bake at 350 for about 10 minutes, do not over cook, these cook quickly and only need a bit of baking to retain their fluffy insides.

Topping 

  • Melt butter in a bowl and put cinnamon sugar in another bowl
  • brush donut holes with butter and drop in cinnamon sugar bowl until coated
  • enjoy!

whole wheat baked donut holes

21 thoughts on “Whole wheat baked donut holes

  1. These look fantastic, I’ve never tried doughnut recipes before because most of them call to be fried – way too unhealthy for me but oven baked one now that sounds like a winner. I think I may have to try these very soon, I haven’t had a doughnut in what feel like years, now this post has put me right in the mood 🙂

  2. These came out so fluffy and yummy. I halved the amount of sugar and substituted with agave and they came out great. Just shared a batch with the neighbors with great reviews. Thanks!

  3. I keep trying this recipe determined to have yummy homemade donuts but I simply cannot get this recipe to turn out. In fact almost every time I’ve made it we have had to throw them away. :(. You don’t say how thin you roll them out before making the circles but i’ve tried several different thicknesses. The main issue is I can’t get them to rise the second time. I’ve adjusted several things but nothing has helped. They never get puffy inside like your picture. But the taste is always very bland too.

  4. Looks wonderfull! But don’t you think the active yeast is alot for this amunt of flour? Thanks for sharing this amazing recipe!

Let me know what you think!

