Sweet potato gnocchi with spinach & goat cheese

BeFunky_IMG_6002.jpg

Yesterday I planned on finally attempting to make ravioli again and this time I would remember to drain the spinach and not ruin all the dough and it would be perfect but then all of a sudden it was 4 pm and I needed to have dinner done before leaving in an hour.

I was so excited to make pasta but an hour to have dinner done, get ready and get both the kids out the door in pants AND shoes did not seem possible.  I remember reading that gnocchi  was super quick and easy to make  and so I decided to set out to make it…without a recipe.

I tried to find a whole wheat and sweet potato gnocchi recipe I liked but I kept finding either a good sweet potato recipe or a good whole wheat recipe but nothing that fit what I wanted. Finally I just decided to wing it, it is just potato and flour right?

It turns out that gnocchi really is a super easy to make dish and even better it freezes quite well so you can make extra for another day. This recipe came out quite good  though as my daughter discovered not as good cold out the fridge hours later, it is definitely best hot and fresh.

What you need

  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1 3/4 c whole wheat  flour (ish)
  • salt & pepper
  • fresh rosemary
  • 2 cloves finely grated garlic
  • 4 tbsp goat cheese
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • handful of spinach

How to make it

  • peel and cook sweet potato, i just stuck it in the microwave because of my time crunch
  • mash sweet potato in a bowl
  • add some finely chopped rosemary  and salt and pepper to taste
  • add flour 1/4 cup at a time until  it forms a smooth dough
  • knead for a few minutes until  it is no longer sticky
  • separate into palm sized balls , about 4-5
  • on a floured surface roll out into a rope, it is helpful to start at the middle of the rope and work your hand out to the ends to make it longer
  • when it is about  as thick as your thumb cut into bit sized pieces
  • use a fork and indent the side of the gnocchi, I don’t know why but everyone else was doing it so I did too, foodie peer pressure
  • separate your gnocchi  into 2 piles, what you are using now and what you want to freeze
  • put the gnocchi you want to freeze on a baking sheet, not touching and put in the freezer, when frozen put in a freezer bag and store for later
  • bring a pot of salted water to a boil
  • add  a bit  (2-3 tbsp) of olive oil to the boiling water
  • drop in the gnocchi  in the boiling water
  • let cook a few minutes after it rises to the top
  • melt butter in a pan
  • transfer cooked gnocchi to pan and saute with the butter & garlic
  • add salt and pepper to taste
  • add spinach and mix just until slightly wilted
  • sprinkle with goat cheese and eat!
7 thoughts on “Sweet potato gnocchi with spinach & goat cheese

  1. I’ve been wanting to try out gnocchi for a while, but have never thought of using sweet potato. This looks delicious!

  2. This is SO much easier than my regular recipe! I made it with butternut squash and lemon-thyme from my garden, and replaced spinach with chard (because I have some that needs to be used up) and goat cheese with feta. I’ve never cooked gnocchi fresh. These aren’t too pretty (I suspect my frozen ones will look a bit nicer), but they’re so tasty! Thanks!

Let me know what you think!

