zucchini fries & old bay aioli

zucchini fries & aioloI have been craving fish & chips, not just craving either I have been dreaming about it.  I didn’t want to use my pricey salmon on a deep fried dish and really I just couldn’t handle the grease either. My tummy has been a lot more sensitive since cutting out overly processed foods and I knew if I ate anything deep fried I would be sick for days.

My daughter suggested just making fries for lunch but I was saving the potatoes for my annual St.Patrick’s day calconnan dinner. Finally we both agreed that zucchini fries sounded like the best thing ever and if I made an old bay dip , it might just satisfy my fish & chips craving.

Not only  did this recipe satisfy my east coast food craving   but it was surprisingly like fish & chips, I mean it even kind of tastes like fish because of the old bay! This was so yummy and easy to make and the kiddo had a lot of fun helping and getting her hands messy. Next time I am making it for dinner so I can have a pint of beer too, I think then my craving will be truly satisfied.

What you need

  • 3 C panko
  • old bay
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 c flour
  • 2 zucchini
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp mustard
  • 1/2 cup of olive oil/grape seed (or veggie oil of choice) mixed

How to make it

Aioli

  • with a hand blender or in an electric mixer put 2 egg yolks and a tsp of mustard
  • turn on mixer and whip up eggs for a few seconds
  • slowly and the juice of half of your lemon
  • slowly add the oil mixture until the aioli thickens
  • put it into a bowl and mix  in 1 tbsp old bay with a spoon
  • put into the fridge to cool until the fries are done

Zucchini fries

  • cut zucchini into wedges
  • put wedges into a bag with the flour  and a and let the kiddo shake it up until the zucchini is coated
  • in a bowl whisk together 2 eggs
  • in another bowl add panko & a bit of salt
  • dip the zucchini  one by one into the egg then into the bowl of panko and coat
  • put on a lightly oiled pan
  • sprinkle the zucchini fries with old bay
  • cook at 350 for about 20 minutes until the panko is crisp on the edges and a fork goes through the zucchini smoothly

Squeeze some lemon on the fries and serve!

9 thoughts on “zucchini fries & old bay aioli

  1. Sounds yummy! I’m trying an ‘oven fried’ fish this weekend (I can’t do much deep fried food either) with some yummy and inexpensive whitefish I got from Rancho. I’ll let you know how it goes!

  2. wOW that looks fantastic! We actually had breaded zucchini tonight, but only had marinara sauce with them. i love a Aioli sauce, although i think it always hard garlic in it. your recipe sounds interesting. Can’t wait to try it! (giveaway post)

  3. Oh…..these look so good. And I just bought zucchini yesterday. I was going to make stir fry with it, but I have to try this recipe! So glad I found it, it looks sooooooo yummy. Thank you. Giveaway comment

  4. Pingback: Home made mayo | Mama Mouse Says

Let me know what you think!

