Whole wheat cranberry & ginger yogurt scones

Cranberry ginger scone

I am not a photographer  not by any stretch of the word. I take a billion photos of my children but I still don’t understand how to use all the settings on my camera. The other day my basic plain Jane digital camera died  and no matter how much I begged it to work , it was done for.  Luckily my father in law let me borrow his camera and my samosas have never looked so good!

Since I was borrowing a nice camera my husband decided to build me a DIY lightbox to  try to make my photos look a little less busy  aka keep  my chaotic kitchen  out of the photo. It turned out pretty well and my first attempt at a decent photos was better than I expected. I may not be a pro but at least my food looks pretty!  I have a long way to go to get to foodgawker status,  but you have to start somewhere!

This scone recipe is a nice pick me up in the morning with the spicy ginger and sweet cranberries. Usually this is an autumn scone but with spring on the way ginger was calling to me. These taste wonderful with a little bit of honey and a nice warm cup of tea.

What you need

  • 1.5 c whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 c sugar or dry sweetener of choice
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 7 tbsp butter or vegetable margarine, I used smart balance
  • 1/2 c plain yogurt, I used Nancy’s
  • 1/4 C dried cranberries
  • a few candied ginger chunks chopped, add more or less as you like
  • raw sugar for top

How to make it

  • Mix dry ingredients ( flour, sugar, baking soda/powder, salt) in a bowl
  • cut in the butter and mix with hands until crumbly
  • add yogurt and mix together lightly
  • add cranberries and ginger and knead in until no more crumbs are falling in the bowl and the dough forms a ball
  • put on a floured surface and roll our into a circle
  • cut into 8 pieces
  • place pieces onto a greased baking pan
  • sprinkle with raw sugar and press it in gently
  • bake at 300 for 15-20 minutes until light brown on edges
  • enjoy!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Whole wheat cranberry & ginger yogurt scones

Let me know what you think!

