Turkey chili & gruyere biscuits

turkey chili and gruyere biscuits recipe

It is grocery day here which means we are eating all our leftovers and cleaning out the fridge  so I thought I  would share one of my favorite winter recipes with you. This is a recipe for those  winter days when all you want to do is cuddle under a blanket.  This is a crock pot meal that you can throw together quickly so that you can get back under the covers.  The chili is healthy and packed full of nutrients and the biscuits are flaky and cheesy and delicious, perfect food to warm you up.

My family loves this recipe so much that I made it a few times a month and there are never leftovers. This is pretty much a fool-proof recipe so even if you aren’t too comfortable in the kitchen I guarantee this will come out delicious!

This recipe was featured on Winco’s website HERE

Chili Ingredients:

  • 2 cups ground turkey
  • 1 can of organic black beans
  • 3/4 cup quinoa ( I used red quinoa)
  • 1 can organic crushed tomatoes
  • 2 small bulbs of garlic roasted in the oven (trust me, the mess is worth the flavor)
  • 1 carrot –
  • 1 onion
  • spiced: cumin, chili powder, sea salt, cracked pepper  (I don’t measure these I just add until it tastes awesome)

Biscuit ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour ( I used white but feel free to use a wheat/white combo) 
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup butter or shortening ( I used smart balance)
  • 2/3 c milk
  • 1/2 grated cheese-any kind will do!  I used Wasatch mountain Gruyere I had leftover from an apple Gruyere pie but  next I want to try  beehive cheese‘s  seahive cheese!

Chili directions:

  • put bulbs of garlic in the oven  at 350 until tender, about 10 minutes. I wrap them in foil with oil)
  • Brown the chili in a pan  with a few tablespoons of olive oil
  • Add onions and cook  until the onions are translucent
  • Transfer to a crock pot, juices and all and turn to high (if cooking on the stove use a small pot on med heat)
  • Dice carrots and add to crock
  • Add can of tomatoes, black beans, quinoa and spices to taste
  • Add roasted garlic
  • Let cook until carrots are tender and quinoa is done. You can tell when quinoa is done because i t will look like it sprouted.
  • While your chili is cooking , whip up some biscuits!

Biscuit directions:

  • Add dry ingredients and mix
  • Add grated cheese
  • Add butter or shortening and blend together with a pastry knife or fork until it is coarse
  • Add the milk and mix until blended
  • Knead on a floured surface around 15 times
  • roll out with a roller and use a cookie cutter to cut shapes (circle or heart), the extra dough a i just rolled by hand and threw in the oven with it.
  • you can grate extra cheese on top for an added crunch
  • cook at 350 for 10 minutes or until lightly browned on top.
4 thoughts on “Turkey chili & gruyere biscuits

  1. Hi, very nice to meet you, I’m an italian food blogger that love to discover new recipe from all over the world. Very inspiring your blog. If you like, please visit my, this will make me very happy!
    Have a nice day

  2. Pingback: Southwestern quinoa chili with cheesy polenta | Mama Mouse Says

Let me know what you think!

