Quinoa with beet greens & feta

quinoa with beet greens and feta

Last night I went to  the fabulous Jen Larsen’s book launch and I was in a hurry. I wanted to make the kiddo something super healthy for dinner but I only had about 15 minutes.  Luckily I remembered I saved the beet greens from the beet hummus I made the other day and I came up with this quick recipe that my daughter loved.

It is pretty hard to get kids to finish their dinner sometimes but this meal was devoured as soon as I put it in front of her. Quinoa is packed full of nutrients and is one of my favorite super foods. It is a super versatile grain and can be made sweet, savory, sprouted or raw.  This recipe only takes around 15 minutes to make so it is a great way to get a super healthy meal on a hurry.

These leftovers are also great in burritos and breakfast scrambles, try it!

What you need

  • 1 c quinoa
  • beet greens from 3 beets, around 3 cups chopped
  • 2 c chicken or vegetable broth or 2  C water and bullion , I used Edward & sons natural bullion
  • 1/4 cup crumbled feta
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • salt to taste

How to make it

  • put quinoa  and water with bullion or broth  on stove at high heat
  • bring to a boil  then simmer with a lid on until quinoa is done
  • in a pan saute beet greens with garlic
  • add cooked quinoa  to beet green and mix together
  • add crumbled feta on top
  • enjoy
4 thoughts on “Quinoa with beet greens & feta

Let me know what you think!

