Salad rolls & healthy peanut butter sauce

salad rolls and peanut butter sauce

Lunches in our house are usually peanut butter and honey sandwiches for the kiddo and salad for mama  but yesterday we were craving something a bit different. Usually I let my daughter make her own lunch  so I wanted something fun for her to be able to create. Spring rolls are not only easy and quick for moms to make but fun for kids too.

I really loved the acai berry raw nut butter added to the sauce, it made it a tad  sweeter and added a ton of antioxidants. At only $1.50 a pack it really is a great way to boot the nutritional content of your meal.

These salad spring rolls can be made with whatever veggies you have in the fridge, even leftover grains!  They are easy to carry and pack and would be perfect for picnics and trips to the park.  My daughter was really excited to eat these and barely noticed she ate a ton of veggies while doing so.  Letting kids create their own meals is great for their self esteem and is a fun way to teach them about food and nutrition.

Let me know if you try it, i’d love to see your results!

What you need

  • spring roll rice paper
  • veggies of choice, I used red leaf lettuce,, carrots, cucumber, tomato, green onion and pear
  • herbs of choice, I used basil but mint would be dreamy
  • 4 tbsp peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp all natural hoison sauce like this-http://www.honestfoods.com/hoisin.html
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • artisana raw nut butter in acai berry, optional but its cheap so try it, there are many flavors to play with!

How to make it

Rolls

  • Use a vegetable peeler and slice your veggies into thin strips
  • fill a large bowl with warm water
  • dip your rice paper in the water gently until the rice paper is soft
  • lay on a plate and place veggies and lettuce and herbs on center of rice paper
  • fold like a burrito tucking the end under all the veggies tightly and the rolling

Sauce

  • in a bowl put  peanut butter and  coconut oil, heat in microwave or stove top (in pot) until coconut oil is melted
  • mix peanut butter and il until blended
  • add honey, hoisin sauce and  artisana raw acai butter and mix until well blended
  • add more hoisin sauce if it is too thick
  • enjoy!

**full disclosure: I was given a sample of a product used in this recipe. I was in no way obligated to use the product or review it. I only use products I love, trust  and have tested.

11 thoughts on “Salad rolls & healthy peanut butter sauce

  1. Very interesting recipe, I wish I could recreate it so easily. unfortunately acai is widely unknown in Asia and Europe. I only got to know about it when 2 reporters from San Francisco had come to Goa and mentioned the acai craze in California. Thanks for sharing!

  2. I am looking forward to trying this recipe! How do you think some tuna would go in the rolls? Would it go okay with the dipping sauce? I’d like to add a little more protein to make this into a dinner. (Giveaway Comment!)

Let me know what you think!

