Vegan veggie mac & ‘cheese’

BeFunky_DSC09787.jpg

My wisdom teeth are out but my mouth is still very much sore and eating  is still hard to do. As much as a I love yogurt and pudding and ice cream galore I needed something a bit more substantial to eat and today I was ready to try to eat food I could chew. My daughter loves mac n cheese but we both have the sniffles and cheese would only irritate  the problem so I decided to play with my old vegan cheese recipe and make a super creamy vegan veggie mac n cheese.

This recipe came out perfectly and I was able to eat it without pain and of course it was also delicious. This would be great with panko  bread crumbs on top to add crunch but since I didn’t want to hurt my already sore jaw I decided to leave it out and instead sprinkled flax meal and nutritional yeast on top. The flax added just enough crunch to satisfy that baked  crispy top I love but it was still soft enough to eat without much chewing.

I hope you enjoy this recipe and if you try  it let me know, I would love to see your results.

What you need

  • 6 tbsp earth balance
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1 tbsp corn starch or arrow-root
  • 1 onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • half a head of cauliflower
  • 2 small zucchini
  • 1.5 cups of nutritional yeast, you can find this in the winco bulk bins
  • 1 cup of a milk of choice (hemp, soy, oat , anything works)
  • 1 cup veggie broth
  • 1 tbsp cracked red pepper
  • 1 box whole wheat macaroni shell pasta
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 tbsp flax meal mixed with nutritional yeast and salt for topping ( optional)

How to make it

  • Cook pasta and set aside
  • Steam cauliflower and set aside (you can steam it over the pasta while it cooks)
  • Chop garlic and onion very fine and put in a sauce pan with earth balance
  • Coo until earth balance is melted
  • add flour, cornstarch and nutritional yeast and mix until blended
  • cook for a couple of minutes until thoroughly blended
  • whisk in milk and broth
  • add red pepper and salt and pepper and let come to a boil until it thickens
  • add to a blender with  cauliflower and blend until smooth and creamy
  • Grate zucchini and mix into a bowl with pasta
  • add “cheese” sauce over pasta nd mix thoroughly
  • add to a baking dish and top with the flax and nutritional yeast mixture if you want a bit of crunch on top
  • bake at 400 for 15-20 minutes until bubbly
4 thoughts on “Vegan veggie mac & ‘cheese’

  1. Pingback: Vegan nachos | Mama Mouse Says

Let me know what you think!

