Quick and easy creamy potato soup

soup.jpgI had  all four of my wisdom teeth removed yesterday and with a swollen face and lots of after surgery pain I needed something easy to eat. I probably should have gone grocery shopping before hand but since I was a bit unprepared all I had in my house was a whole lot of yogurt and 1 carton of ice cream my husband ran out and purchased for me. When take out miso soup just didn’t cut it  and my husband was out running errands, I had to get out of bed and find something to make quickly.

This recipe turned out amazing and I ended up eating 3 bowls and feeling so much better. A little but of yummy food can really change how you feel in an instant. If you are sick, just got your wisdom teeth out or just need a  quick and easy soup to make then try this out.

Now I am heading back to bed with a full belly and some ice packs.

What you need

  • 4 red potatoes, unpeeled**
  • 1 whole yellow onion
  • half a head of  cauliflower
  • 3 cups of chicken broth
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 4 table spoons sour cream
  • 4 cloves of raw garlic
  • salt to taste

How to make it

  • In a pot add chopped potatoes, cauliflower onion,butter and chicken broth and boil until potatoes are soft
  • add veggies and broth to a blender, add  tad extra water or broth if needed
  • add sour cream, raw garlic and some sea salt
  • blend!

All done! I like to top mine with cold sour cream, I just love Nancy’s sour cream so much.

**why unpeeled potatoes? When compared ounce for ounce, potato skin has more nutrients that the rest of the potato. Potato skin contains B vitamins, vitamin C, iron, calcium, potassium and other nutrients. Potato skin also provides lots of fiber, about 2 grams per ounce.

PS: I love my new Grandway potholders! Check them out and expect giveaways soon! http://www.shopgrandway.com/

10 thoughts on “Quick and easy creamy potato soup

Let me know what you think!

