Berry, lavender & coconut milk scones

BeFunky_sconeclose1.jpg

The weekend is here which means it’s time for a sugary sweet treat in our house. With the sun shining and the weather a bit warmer I was craving a treat  with a bit of lavender. Lavender is one of my favorite ingredients for sweet treats and it adds a subtle floral flavor to  your food and makes the house smells amazing when baking.

My daughter was having a sleepover as well and I wanted to make a pretty treat that the girls could eat with a cup of tea while wearing adorable  dress up clothes. Scones are super easy and quick to make and  with only 3 tablespoon of sugar they aren’t sweet enough to make the kids act like wild things all night long.

I have a yogurt & milk  scone recipe I usually use but since I had a bit of coconut milk left over from our valentines day dessert I decided to use it in place of milk to add a bit of flavor and yummies. This scone is super moist and even more so with the added berries. I guarantee these scones will go quickly, mine were almost gone before I could finish photographing them. Let me know what you think and I would LOVE to see your results!

What you need:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1.5 tablespoons baking powder
  • 3 tablespoons cane sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 5 tablespoons cold unsalted butter
  • 1 cup berries  (I used a bicture of raspberry, blackberry and blueberry)
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt, i like Nancy’s
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk, I use native forest
  • 1 tablespoon lavender

BeFunky_dough.jpg

How to make it:

  • preheat oven to 350
  • Mix flour, baking powder and lavender together
  • Cut  butter into chunks and  mix into flour  with your hands
  • Add berries and mix lightly until berries are completely covered in flour mixture
  • mix yogurt and coconut milk together
  • add into dough slowly, mixing with your hands until it is no longer sticky
  • form into a ball and put on a floured surface  and roll out to a 1/2 inch round
  • cut into 8 triangle pieces
  • Place on a greased baking sheet and cook at 300 for 15 minutes or until edges are brown
  • These scones will feel a bit  moist when you take them out the oven but will harden up once cooled

BeFunky_scones1.jpg

9 thoughts on “Berry, lavender & coconut milk scones

  1. As a father you never cease to amaze me with all that you do Mikaela. This recipe looks awesome and I am going to try it soon. This site is nicely done and the recipes seems easy to follow. Will let you know how they turn out. Love everything about you 🙂
    Dadio

  2. I just bought some fresh lavender at the farmer’s market and was looking for some recipes to use it in. I now have one. Thank you. giveaway comment

  3. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  4. Pingback: Pinky up, I made you scones! | Wait...are those...cookies?!

Let me know what you think!

