Power granola & yogurt muffins

muffins

With my husband training for the Spartan Beast race, and me trying to lose those extra few pounds to get back into my pre-baby dresses,  I have been trying to come up with some recipes  that are not only yummy but can be taken on the trails or while working out.    I love eating granola, especially in the morning with yogurt, but after turning over my box of granola and reading how much sugar was in it I knew I had to make it myself.

Granola is the perfect snack and can be made any way you like it, this time I knew I wanted it to be packed full of protein and nutrients, a workout power food. My daughter and I took a trip  to Win-co and went to town picking out ingredients for our granolas, filling up our bags with everything in sight.  I am pretty sure we picked out a little bit of everything, watermelon seeds included.

granola2

Power-food granola

What you will need:

  • 1/4 C +  extra honey
  • 2/3 C applesauce
  • splash of vanilla
  • 3 tbsp cinnamon
  • 3 C oats
  • 1 C quinoa (cooked)
  • 1/2 flax-seed
  • 1 C Nuts of your choice ( I chose sunflower seeds& almonds)
  • 1 C dried fruit of your choice ( I chose cranberries).

To make the granola:

  • Add 1/4 cup of honey,  2/3 cup of unsweetened apple sauce , splash of real vanilla and some cinnamon in a bowl.
  • In another bowl  add 3 cups of quick oats, 1 cup of cooked quinoa and flax seeds.
  • Gently pour in the wet mixture into the dry ingredients.
  • When it is all mixed take your  honey bottle and drizzle honey over the mixture while stirring, this will make it stick together. I added about 8 table spoons extra honey.
  • Spread onto a baking sheet and bake at 350 for 15 minutes or until edges are getting brown.
  • Stir in nuts ( I added raw  sunflower seeds, crushed raw almonds and raw peanuts) and cook another 5-10 minutes or until mixture feels dry. The granola will  harden as it cools.
  • Store in a zip-lock back or Tupperware ( only when completely cooled) and it will last a couple weeks…that is if you don’t eat it all.

muffin

Another great on the go food is  muffins but every recipe I tried was dry and crumbly a few hours after cooling and most are loaded with sugars. Since we were making granola already I thought I might experiment with a power granola muffin but I never expected them to turn out as good as they did. These muffins were moist and perfectly sweet and the next day they were even better!  We topped them with creamed honey and devoured them before I had a chance to put any in the freezer for later. My daughter, who usually just eats the tops off of muffins and feeds the rest to the dog,  ate 2 whole muffins in a row!

Yogurt muffins

What you will need:

  • 1.5 C plain yogurt ( I used Nancy’s yogurt)
  • 2/3 C oil ( I used smart balance oil)
  • 1/4 C honey
  • 1/4 C unsweetened apple sauce or sugar depending on how sweet you want them
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 C whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 C unbleached white flour
  • 1/4 C flax meal ( if you have it)
  • 1 1/4 C  granola
  • handful of raisins or extra cranberries
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • Pinch of salt

To make the muffins:

  • Using a kitchen aid or by hand, whisk together the honey, applesauce( or sugar), eggs , yogurt and oil.
  • In a separate bowl mix granola, flours, baking powder and salt
  • Slowly add dry ingredients to the wet ingredients
  • Fold in raisins or cranberries
  • Bake at 350 for 15 minutes or until center of muffins is done.

All ingredients can be found at WInco

One thought on “Power granola & yogurt muffins

Let me know what you think!

