Quick lunch: Beet broth udon

BeFunky_DSC09661.jpg

My daughter woke up with a case of the sniffles and whineys  and I wanted to cheer her up a little.  One of her favorite movies is Ponyo and I usually make her a Ponyo lunch when she is feeling down.

Today I was making a crock pot of beet chili and  since I had an extra beet I decided to experiment a bit with tinting her udon noodles pink. She was quite excited when her lunch came out all pink and pretty and she ate 3 bowls and was back to her chipper self in  no time.

Ponyo lunch is always easy to make and this  beet broth udon lunch is just as easy. It is a quick way to get a full belly and a good excuse to pull out those chopsticks you never get to use. The best part of this lunch is that you can really add anything you like- edamame, chicken, ham or even leeks. Be creative!

What you need

  • udon noodles
  • 1 organic beet,  peeled
  • handful of organic spinach
  • 2 cups  organic chicken broth
  • 2 hard-boiled eggs

How to make

  • Chop beet into chunks and boil in chicken broth until soft but still a bit hard, you don’t want them to mush up
  • In another pot boil udon until tender, I usually put the eggs in with the udon to cook as well to save time, drain and rinse in cold water
  • Put udon in a bowl  and pour beet and chicken broth over
  • Add spinach and let wilt
  • Top with beet chunks and hard-boiled egg sliced in half
  • Enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Quick lunch: Beet broth udon

  1. This was really easy to make and cheap, too! Good soul food. I used my own homemade chicken broth and added some leftover silken tofu I had in the fridge. Also added edamame and extra spinach. Thanks for the food-spiration. This meal made my day.

Let me know what you think!

